assistance to victims of DWI- and

BWI-related (driving/boating while

impaired) crashes through the Fill-

ing a V.O.L.D. (Victims Of Impaired

Drivers) program. Officers and

advocates often impact the long-term
f recovery of a victim by helping them
1 and their families obtain assistance

In Missouri, 3 percent of all traffic
crashes involves drinking. This
statistic may seem insignificant

— until you or someone you love
becomes one. When that happens,

it becomes evident that driving a
vehicle or operating a watercraft

while impaired is a serious and
devastating crime.

The Missouri State High-

way Patrol strives to provide
service and protection to all
individuals living or travel-
ing through Missouri. Those
who suffer at the hands of the
impaired driver are entitled

to receive the same service
and protection as victims of
any other crime. The Missouri
State Highway Patrol is com-
mitted to providing comprehensive

from victim service providers and
other organizations during a trau-

| matic time in their lives.

+ This brochure strives to give a
» brief overview of the services

offered through Filling a V.O.1.D.

¢ For further information, services,
| support, or an educational packet,
‘| please contact the civilian victim

» advocate by calling:

1-888-773-1800

Crime Victim Hotline



Our officers and civilian victim advocate work
together to support victims of impaired drivers.

Officers will:

» Contact you after the incident to explain the
Filling a V.O.L.D. program.

* Provide support, information, and assistance to
victims and their families.

» Refer you to the appropriate agency or the vic-
tim hotline if you have specific needs or require
further information or service.

The civillan victim advocete at the
hotfine can assist you.

An advocate is a supporter, defender, or some-
one who can intervene and mediate on someone
else’s behalf.

Our civilian victim advocate will:

* Provide information and assistance regarding
the criminal justice system and securing your
rights as a crime victim.

* Provide information concerning your crash or

case status.

Initiate contact with law enforcement and/or

the prosecuting attorney.

* Help you obtain copies of reports and
information.

* Find resources and services that are specific to
your needs.

Who (s elligible for services provided
by the Filling a V.0.l.D. program?

Program services focus on victims of
impairment-related crashes, however, any crime
victim may call the hotline number for assistance.
Victims would include, but not be limited to, the
following:

» Someone injured or killed by an impaired (al-
cohol or drugs) driver, their family members,

and their minor children, or victims of vehicu-
lar injury, involuntary manslaughter, homi-
cide, and similar acts;

» Passengers in a vehicle driven by an impaired
driver;

 Children who are injured or killed in a vehicle
driven by their impaired parent or caretaker;
and

 Pedestrians who have been involved in an
impairment-related crash or their families.

Crash reports are usually available within 10
days following the investigation; reconstruction
reports may take up to 90 days. You may obtain a
copy of the basic crash report for a nominal fee.
Additional fees will apply for witness statements,
photographs, reconstruction reports, etc. Please
contact the Patrol Records Division for more infor-
mation.

To obtain a traffic crash report:

1. Access the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s
website at www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov.

2. Select “Request A Traffic Crash Report” under
the “Publications” heading on the left side of
the web page.

3. Complete and print the “MSHP Request for
Traffic Crash Report.”

4. Mail the completed form to one of the nine
MSHP troop headquarters listed on the form
along with a check or money order (NO
CASH) payable to “DPS - Missouri State
Highway Patrol,” with the applicable fee listed
on page two of the form.

If you have questions, contact the appropriate
troop headquarters or the Patrol Records Division.
Staff is available to take your call from § a.m. to 4
p-m., Monday through Friday, except state holi-
days.

Incident #:

Supplemental Reports

Supplemental reports, e.g. alcohol influence
reports, property records, or laboratory results,

may also be requested by visiting www.mshp.dps.
mo.gov, and selecting the Public Records Center
link under the “Public Record Requests” head-

ing. The Public Records Center web page includes
frequently asked questions and the “Submit A
Request” option. On the request form, indicate the
specific records you are requesting or state “any
and all records related to the incident.”

llxporrANT THINGS
o [Kinow

o Utilize the Filling a V.O.L.D. civilian victim ad-
vocate and resources on the MSHP’s website
under the V.O.LD. link. Enlist the advocate’s
assistance to help you understand the criminal
justice process, address your concerns, and
request information. The Filling a V.O.1.D. pro-
gram is provided by the Missouri State Highway
Patrol at no charge.

Crime Victim Hotline
1-888-773-1800

¢ Find out what your rights are as a victim of
a crime. This information may be obtained by
contacting our hotline, website, or other victim
service agencies and advocates.

e Secure your rights. Send the appropriate pros-
ecuting attorney a letter to secure your rights in
order to be kept informed about your case. The
law requires your request be in writing. A Let-
ter To Secure Rights is provided on the MSHP’s
Filling a V.O.I.D. web page.

* Contact the investigating officer to discuss any
questions you may have regarding the crash.

* Register for MOVANS (Missouri Victim Auto-
mated Notification System), so that you can be
informed by e-mail or phone of court dates, pa-
role hearings, and offender custody status. You

may register for the service on the Missouri Case
Net website or by calling 1-866-566-8267.

* Keep a record of all expenses related to the
case. This information may be needed for the
prosecutor to obtain restitution for you.

WYicTirs”
ConipEnsATIoN FUND

The state of Missouri established the Crime
Victims’ Compensation Fund to reimburse some
crime victims for certain financial losses.

A claim must be filed within two years from
the incident date or discovery of the crime.

* The crime must have been reported to proper
authorities.

+ Financial assistance is available for medical
costs, lost wages at work, loss of support, fu-
neral costs, and counseling. Property damage
is not a recoverable expense.

The parameters of the Crime Victims’ Com-
pensation Fund are detailed in Sections 595.010 to
595.220 RSMo and is managed by the Department
of Public Safety. The Crime Victims’ Compen-
sation Fund is a payor of last resort, and may
withhold, restrict, or deny payment based on
fund guidelines. For more information, an applica-
tion, and brochure contact:

Crime Victims’ Compensation
1-800-347-6881

AFrER Thie CASE

As a victim of crime, you are entitled to infor-
mation about the offender’s custody status, parole
hearings, hearing results, release to the community,
escape, and death. This information can be obtained
through MOVANS or by contacting:

Department of Corrections
Office of Victim Services
(573) 526-6516



